2023 Victorian Young Performer Award Finalists (clockwise from top left): Tom Lowe (alto saxophone), Sunny Li (bass-baritone), Louise Turnbull (violin) and Haoqing Leo Liu (piano).

Sunday 22 October, 2pm
Good Shepherd Chapel, Abbotsford

Established in 1989 in collaboration with the Musical Society of Victoria, the 3MBS Victorian Young Performer Award has become one of Victoria’s premier youth music competitions with many of the Award’s past laureates going on to enjoy wonderful careers in classical music

Performing in the 2023 3MBS Young Performer Award are the winners of the Musical Society of Victoria’s Hephzibah Menuhin Awards: Haoqing Leo Liu (piano), Louise Turnbull (violin) and Tom Lowe (alto saxophone) along with the winner of the Armstead Singing Award, Sunny Li.

The 2022 Victorian and National Young Performer Award winner, Anna Gao (piano) will perform at the end of the event as the judges deliberate. Judging this year’s Award will be Heather Fletcher, Yoram Levy, Josephine Vains and David Soo.

Join us for an exceptional afternoon of music making at the Good Shepherd Chapel followed by afternoon tea next door at the 3MBS studios.

Ticket prices (include post-event afternoon tea):
Full $25
Concession $20
3MBS Subscribers $20

Mason & Hamlin piano provided courtesy of the Australian National Academy of Music.


2022 Victorian and National Young Performer Award winner, Anna Gao (piano)




We extend our thanks to the following Angel donors who have made the 2023 3MBS Victorian Young Performer Award possible. The financial support will assist young musicians to take the next step.

Premiere Angels ($5,000+)

Alan & Shirley Richmond

Silver Angels ($1,000+)

Marc Besen AC

Dr Jerry Koliha & Marlene Krelle

John & Rosemary Macleod

Lady Marigold Southey AC

Peter & Kay Tuncks

Marjorie White

Anonymous (2)

Bronze Angels ($500+)

Janet Cooper

Fiona Crosby

Dr Marie Dalziel

John Scully

John E Smith

Kiera Stevens

Anonymous (1)

Blue Angels ($100+)

Luisa Banks & Eugene Antczak

John & Maureen Barns

John Cleghorn

Elisabeth Giddy

Joan Ikin

Bryan Lawrence

Anne Neil

Edward Nichols

Anonymous (2)