Thanks to the Zelman Symphony Orchestra, we’re giving away three double passes to their upcoming performance of From the Old World to the New


Read more about the performance below.

Czech composer Dvořák spent many years in the United States, reflected in his American Suite. Whilst there, he encouraged a new generation of US composers. Samuel Barber was one – his heartfelt Adagio for Strings will be followed by his Canzonetta for Oboe. At short notice, we are delighted to have Thomas Hutchinson, Associate Principal Oboe at Melbourne Symphony Orchestra as soloist. A graduate of ANAM and the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, he will also perform the Oboe Concerto by another Czech composer, Martinů, who was forced to flee to the States during World War II. It was written for Czech-Australian oboist Jiří Tancibudek for the opening of Melbourne’s Olympic Games in 1956.

We are proud to present a premiere work by a young Australian composer, Chris Pickering, the Zelman Symphony – Melbourne University Emerging Composer for 2018.

We end this evening back in the Old World with Dvořák’s lyrical Symphony No.8which was inspired by Czech folk music.


When: Saturday 1 September 2018, 8.00pm

Where: Eldon Hogan Performing Arts Centre, Xavier College, Barkers Road, Kew


This competition has now closed but stay tuned for more coming soon.


Competition closes Monday 20 August at 9am.

Competition is subject to terms and conditions.

Only the winners will be notified.