3MBS Fine Music Melbourne and Principal Supporter Freemasons Victoria are proud to present 

The 30th 3MBS Freemasons Victoria Young Performer of the Year Award

2pm, Sunday 21 October 2018

Please note that due to unavoidable circumstances, the performance will no longer take place at the Australian National Academy of Music and will be located at Good Shepherd Chapel at Abbotsford Convent.

Meet the Finalists:

Michelle McCarthy (soprano)

Anastasia Tionadewi (piano)

Din Din Wang (violin)

William Hardy (recorders)


Youth development and music education are integral elements of the 3MBS Fine Music Melbourne’s mission. The 3MBS Freemasons Victoria Young Performer of the Year Award has been staged every year since 1989, when the first title was awarded to pianist Rebecca Chambers.  Other winners include; cellists Li-Wei Qin (1990) and Rohan de Korte (1992); saxophonist Jason Xanthoudakis(2000); pianists Hoang Pham (2001) and Amir Farid (2005); violinists Tessa Ho (2010) and Aaron Ch’ng (2012); and soprano Kathryn Radcliffe (2014), who went on to win the prestigious Herald-Sun Aria a few days later. The 2017 winner was 13-year old violinist Leon Fei. The Award is an important milestone for many young classical musicians looking to further their careers.

The winner of the Victorian Award then competes for the National Young Virtuoso of the Year Award, along with winners from the four Fine Music stations: Fine Music 102.5 (NSW), 4MBS (QLD), 5MBS (SA) and ArtSound (ACT).  Each station broadcasts the national concert, showcasing the finalists to a national audience. In many cases, this has resulted in ongoing performance engagements.
Reserve your free tickets below